In 1897, Bradley hosted the Interstate Oratory Contest, beginning a speech history that’s still going strong 115 years later. With the mantra “two in ’12,” this year’s undefeated speech team won both the American Forensic Association (AFA) and National Forensic Association (NFA) tournaments, exactly 30 years after the team captured both tournament titles the first time. This year’s sweep at the national tournaments was the 14th in program history.

The most successful speech team in the nation, Bradley has (as of November 2012) garnered 141 individual national titles and 39 team sweepstakes over the last 30 years!

In November 2012, more than 100 Bradley speech and debate alumni visited campus for the Bradley Forensics Alumni Network (BFAN) Reunion, held in conjunction with the L.E. Norton Invitational Tournament. In addition to catching up with teammates and old friends, reunion attendees served as volunteer judges during the tournament, celebrated the completion of a $75,000 campaign in support of Speech Team programs, and elected new BFAN president Sam Marcosson '83. Thanks to outgoing president, Mitch Colgan '06 for presiding over BFAN, and to the 2012 Reunion Committee led by Bob Carroll '88 for their leadership throughout the past year.

About BFAN
The Bradley Forensics Alumni Network (BFAN) was founded in 2007 to connect forensics alumni, coaches, and supporters to each other, to the forensics program, and to the University. All current and former members of the Bradley speech, debate, or college bowl teams are invited to participate in BFAN activities. BFAN members have the opportunity to get involved on many levels, from coaching students and judging tournaments nationwide to attending and hosting alumni events and reunions and helping to recruit new Bradley University students.

BFAN recently completed a successful fundraising campaign they called “Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is.” Alumni and friends raised $75,000 in support of Speech Team scholarships and travel programs. If you would like to make a contribution, visit the donation web page and be sure to select “Bradley Speech Team” or the program of your choice from the dropdown menu.

BFAN Reunion Committee:

John Hansen, President
Kim Armstrong
Zoe Brown
Wil Burns
Andy Heaton
Sarah Meinen Jedd
Sam Marcosson
Gina Narciso
Camille Yameen